Walla Walla Farmer’s Market

I finally went to Walla Walla’s Farmer’s Market before the season’s over.
I love going Saturday mornings to get produce and check out the local unique booths like:
Grateful Herbs

WW Farmer's Market - The Kitchen BistroThis booth sold all homemade natural products along with Walla Walla Roastery (the best) coffee.  The jars on top are the blends of tea created by the husband-wife team.  I picked out Rose Hips which are pods from the rose flower.  These are packed with tons of Vitamin C and antioxidants, as I learned.  She even poured us a handful to try.  You can snack on them, which are fruity and chewy, grind them for baking, or steep them for tea.  The kind of Rose Hips I purchased was Rosa Canina or dog rose (the other kind is Rosa Gallica).  The best part for me is they are naturally non-caffeinated!  Next to the teas were natural deodorants she made.  The ingredients include coconut oil, baking soda, cornstarch, cocoa butter, and essential oils.  Very cool!

WW Farmer's Market - The Kitchen Bistro

Beautiful handmade jewelry

WW Farmer's Market - The Kitchen Bistro WW Farmer's Market - The Kitchen Bistro

I picked up some gorgeous produce from farm booth in Richland, WA.  I got stalks of leeks and red beets!  Tonight I’m planning a summer produce dinner of Leek Potato Soup and Roasted Beets!  Definitely save the green leafy tops of the beets for smoothies or a salad.  They very much resemble spinach.

WW Farmer's Market - The Kitchen Bistro

To my surprise there was about 6 different types of plums sold at a “Plum Booth” as I’m calling it.  I tried a green plum that was tougher and a red plum which was softer and juicier.  

WW Farmer's Market - The Kitchen Bistro

Our last stop was Stones Throw Farm serving up juice and their Special of the Day, Watermelon Lemonade.  Four juices were available and perfect for a warm sunny day like today!  I tried the “Best Ever” carrot, apple, beet, and ginger.  All the produce used was grown on their organic sustainable farm in Walla Walla.  I don’t have a juicer and probably wouldn’t get one but I wouldn’t mind trying to throw these juicing ingredients into a blender with water or tea and seeing if they’d turn out. 

Leave a Reply

